Do Ghosts Watch Our Most Intimate Moments?

Victor S. Johnson
5 min readMay 5, 2023

--

Question of the Week #2

Travelers, we’re back with another mildly funny, mildly disturbing paranormal question of the week. I am your guide, reverend Victor S. Johnson here to walk normies through their questions for us para-normies. And this week, someone thoughtfully asks if ghosts watch us when we’re most vulnerable.

Is this about the bathroom, or worse? (Quora)

There are two answers here. The best answer is, unfortunately, the most boring answer I can give. I don’t know. I’m sorry to disappoint but don’t worry! I will be sure to speculate for the rest of the article with my usual brand of second-hand hearsay and personal experience to give you a more fun answer, Traveler.

Spiritualism aims to hone both psychic energy and senses before becoming a spirit. Based on my time in spirituality, the afterlife is the same for everyone, but everyone experiences it differently.

That is, of course, if you believe in the afterlife.

In spirituality, the idea of death is that it is the next evolution of the soul. For some, this is a dream-like sleep state. You’re attentive, but you no longer feel in control of your body or extremities. The goal of meditation is to help you both adjust to the plane of the great beyond as well as gain some control over yourself.

Kind of like lucid dreaming, meditation teaches you to realize when you’re asleep. This way, as a spirit, you can choose where you want to go and what you want to do.

But what does this have to do with ghosts watching you go to the bathroom? I promise I’m getting to that, Traveler.

Dudley you don’t watch me pee, do you?

We first must understand what we’re dealing with before we can answer a question like that sincerely. And frankly, we don’t understand. None of us know what happens after death if anything. And no one will no until we die. That said, people tend to create rules for hauntings when hauntings don’t have many regulations.

Some people believe that the afterlife is heaven or hell. Others think it’s just another dimension close to our own. I believe time is a circle, and the afterlife is just us restarting and doing everything again. This is why I think deja vu exists as it does. This is why I feel so many ghosts can be seen going through the same motions they went through when they were alive. This is also why so many spirit sightings are of people who died young and not of natural, age-related causes. At least, that’s my opinion. I’m always happy to hear yours. And if your opinion is that there is no afterlife, please be nice when telling me and anyone else that.

I think that hauntings, ghosts, are those of us who figured out how to experience other points in time and space, or as it’s now called, spacetime. Albert Einstein thought that spacetime is the fourth dimension and we live in the third dimension. Presumptively, if we move into this fourth dimension when we die, then time in that dimension would have no meaning.

Jeremy Bearimy, in other words.

So for those not spiritually trained, the afterlife is overwhelming madness.

At least if the afterlife exists.

You gotta fill that time in eternity somehow, Traveler.

So, some spirits attach themselves to others to haunt them or to be their spirit guides. Others fly through the universe in the next dimension to see the big deal. Some warn those of us in the 3rd dimension of impending tragedies.

And some occupy their infinite time by watching you go to the bathroom.

Damnit, Dudley!

I do have a story about this. On Saturday, April 29th, I was at Selma Mansion in Norristown, Pennsylvania. I was on a paranormal investigation experience with Get Haunted that was very fun. (Please note I bought a ticket, and this is not an advertisement for Get Haunted.) Part of the investigation was a makeshift seance using string lights.

After contacting a spirit named Ruth, the last resident of the property before it was abandoned, we each asked Ruth questions from around the room.

Selma Mansion, Norristown PA

At one point, one of the group leaders had to go to the bathroom upstairs. Someone asked if Ruth would watch them use the bathroom as a joke.

Would you like to take a guess as to whether or not the lights lit up, Traveler?

So, Ruth has a dirty mind. This didn’t stop anyone from using the bathroom. What is Ruth going to do, record it?

To summarize, ghosts might be able to watch you go to the bathroom or in other intimate moments. That shouldn’t bother you, however. There isn’t anything we can do about it, and there’s no sense in worrying about it while we’re still here.

One side note before I finish this QotW, Traveler. One of the books I’m currently reading is Unfinished Business by Erin Taylor. The book is about haunted bathrooms in and across the United States, including ghost stories and histories of the buildings that the bathrooms are in, as well as reviews of said businesses regarding haunted bathrooms. Check it out! (Again, not an advertisement. I like the book and thought about it while writing this.)

I make you one personal promise, though, Traveler. Unlike some ghosts, I will never watch you use the can after I die.

Pictured: some ghosts

Until again,

Safe Travels, Traveler

Vic

(Note: my views on both spirituality and the afterlife are mine alone and thus I am not an expert on either. Please do not take me as such, as there are plenty of folks who consider themselves experts. -VSJ)

--

--

Victor S. Johnson

I’m a tour guide and ghost hunter from the Mid-Atlantic. I’m also a published author with four years worth of short stories to my name.